Posted by: Kelsey Avers | March 6, 2010

Amazing Recipe #3: The Most Dangerous Chocolate Cake In The World

Coco in a cup

I got an email from my aunt today and the subject line read: The most dangerous cake in the world…let’s make it!”

I’m not a huge “baker,” especially when it comes to cakes and pastries from scratch. I just feel like there’s so much that can go wrong! But I sure was surprised by this email. And of course, I made this recipe immediately. If I didn’t, it would’ve been considered some type of chocolate-lovers sin.

This quick cake is perfect for a late night snack or even for a quick dessert after a long dinner out with friends or family. I would highly recommend including the chocolate chips in the recipe (I put about nine in my cup). And, as with all sweet desserts such as my Country Apple Dumplings recipe post, Vanilla Bean ice cream is a must! If Vanilla Bean is too boring for you, spruce it up with this quick fix!

I would say this recipe is perfect for college students, but in reality, it literally is the perfect recipe for everyone who loves chocolate, which really should be, well, everyone! It’s good, it’s warm, and it fits in a nice little teacup. Heck, if you’re in a truly committed relationship with chocolate, you could try some healthy and decadent Chocolate Tea.

Serving Size: 1 serving (or two if you are the sharing type)
Prep Time: About 5 minutes
Cook Time: 3 minutes

Ingredients
– 4 tablespoons flour
– 4 tablespoons sugar

– 2 tablespoons cocoa
– 1 egg
– 3 tablespoons milk
– 3 tablespoons oil
– 3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional, but recommended)
– A small splash of vanilla extract
– 1 large coffee mug (microwave safe)

Directions
– Add dry ingredients to mug, mix well
– Add egg, mix thoroughly
– Pour in milk and oil, mix well
– Add chocolate chips (if using) and vanilla extract, mix again
– Put coffee mug in the microwave, cook for 3 minutes (at 1000 watts)
– The cake will rise over the top of the mug, but don’t be alarmed!

– Allow to cool a little and tip out onto a plate
– Add ice cream if desired
– Eat and enjoy the chocolaty goodness

And why is this the most dangerous recipe in the world?
Simple: Because now we are all only five minutes away from chocolate cake at any time of the day.

The finished product!

Responses

  1. So when I come over on Sunday I want you to make me your super new spaghetti sauce, and this cake for desert ok?? Glad you liked it!

  2. Wow. My kids love your site already! 5 minutes to a chocolate cake and they’ll be doing this when they get home from school. Thanks for sharing.

    • Tammy, I am so glad you and your kids like the site! Feel free to check out the rest of the blog, I have many kid-friendly and affordable recipes up. I update with simple and yummy recipes often!

  3. Great post! You have essentially made it easier for me to become diabetic.

    Thanks! (I guess.)

    Kevin Tu

  4. […] https://collegeramenbudget.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/amazing-recipe-3-the-most-dangerous-chocolate-cak… […]

  5. i just tried this tonight and it turned out perfect….ready in 5 minutes amazing…i added some white chocolate chips for a creamier taste…yum

    check out my blog!
    http://missfoodie.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

