Posted by: Kelsey Avers | May 6, 2010

Amazing Recipe #9: Baked Ziti

In my hometown of San Clemente, CA (in Orange County), there’s a small, local Italian restaurant called Sonny’s Pizza & Pasta. Since I was just a small little thing, I have enjoyed many pasta and pizza dishes at this small, fabulous place. One of my absolutely favorite dishes is the Baked Ziti, which comes straight from the kitchen and onto the table in front of me with the cheese still bubbling and sizzling. Just writing about it is making my stomach talk!

Unfortunately, I’m not exactly close to Orange County right now, and so I decided I was going to make my own version of Sonny’s wonderful dish, with ingredients affordable to us college students.

Feel free to increase or decrease the ingredients consistently with one another. The specific recipe below feeds about 3-4 people with decent-sized portions, so it’s a great dinner to make for you and your roomies, if you’re the sharing type!

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 35-40 minutes

Ingredients
– 2 cups pasta noodle (you can also use Rigatoni or Penne noodles)
– 2 cups spaghetti sauce (why use the stuff in a jar when you should be using one of my first posted recipes, Tomato Sauce with Onion and Butter)
– 1/2 cup parmesan cheese
– 2 cups mozzarella cheese
– OPTIONAL: 1/2 pound ground hamburger/sausage of your choice

Directions
– Begin cooking the noodles
– If you’re using meat, start browning/cooking the meat
– Preheat your oven to 350 degrees Farenheit
– Spray a metal or glass baking/casserole dish with cooking spray
– In the baking dish, layer the ingredients as follows: noodles, meat, sauce, cheese
– Repeat above layering process, top with parmesan cheese
– Bake 35-40 minutes or until the cheese on top is golden brown


Responses

  1. MMMM, looks good, did you make that for me for Mother’s Day?


Leave a Reply

Categories

