Posted by: Kelsey Avers | August 29, 2010

Soup recipe: “It Is What It Is” TJ’s Chicken Noodle Soup

Alright, alright. I know I’m not very good lately at the “I promise I will post more!” kinda thing. You try being a senior in college taking 5 classes while moving to a new place and balancing an editor position along with it! Not too easy, and it results in quick dinners that consist of box macaroni and cheese and corn dogs.

But, alas, through my busy schedule, my immune system has found time to get seriously messed up, thus resulting in me being annoyingly ill.

But instead of sitting on my behind all day like I really wanted to, I needed to find a remedy for this horrible throat whatever-it-is that I have. I’m thinking it’s strep, but I’m hoping it’s not. I feel like I’m going to overdose on cough drops and orange juice, but all day what I’ve really wanted is chicken noodle soup…. and not the canned kind.

The perk of my new place is I live about a 5-minute walk away from Trader Joe’s, which is definitely a good thing, but could also be a bad thing according to my wallet.

So I put on a hoodie to cover up my bedhead and walked on over to TJ’s to get ingredients for chicken noodle soup.

As I was walking to the store, I realized that I hadn’t even looked up any sort of recipe. Oh well! Why not just wing it? Put what I want in this thing, and make a serving for two (one for now, one for tomorrow) and put it on my blog! Duh!

It would also give me an opportunity to use my brand new Emerilware Cookware, which I must say, is quite a treat!

So here goes. I like to call this one the “It Is What It Is” TJ’s Chicken Noodle Soup, the name coming from the fact that I just put what I figured could go into small-portioned chicken noodle soup, and because all my ingredients came from Trader Joe’s!:

I would recommend these spoons for this recipe!

Serving size: 2
Cook/Prep Time: 35-40 minutes

Instant chicken flavor!

Ingredients (because this is such a “do it as you see it” kind of recipe, the amount of chicken, veggies and seasoning can be changed based on how much you like each of the specific ingredients)
– 1 chicken drumstick, cooked

– 1 1/2 cups water (this could change depending on how salty/broth-y you want your soup)
– 1 1/2 cups noodles (I would suggest farfalle or egg noodles)
– 1 tablespoon salted butter
– 1 packet of TJ’s Savory Broth Chicken Flavor packets
– 1/4 cup celery
– 1/4 cup TJ’s shredded carrots
– 1/4 cup onion
– pinch of oregano
– pinch of red pepper flakes
– pinch of salt

Directions
– While your chicken and noodles are cooking, combine water, butter, contents of 1 chicken flavor packet, vegetables and spices in a pot. Simmer for 15 minutes or until veggies are tender.
– When noodles and chicken are done, add both to the pot of veggies, water and seasoning.
– Simmer for another 5-10 minutes if needed to get veggies more tender.
– Serve and feel better!

Serving suggestion:
Serve with a slice of lightly buttered bread or roll, and if you’re sick, don’t forget your orange juice!

Leave a Reply

Categories

